Cisco Career Certifications Review

Cisco Career Certifications Review

Earning a Cisco certification can be of much benefit, as it will allows one to be successful in their IT career. Cisco offers five levels of network certifications. These are the Entry Level, Associate Level, Professional Level, Expert Level and Architect Level. Cisco certifications can enhance your skills but would require diligent planning and training. Most people have managed to progress to the highest level, which made them advance in life. This review will specify the certifications in each level and provide you tips of being successful.

Entry Level Certifications

An Individual who gains interest in becoming a networking professional, will start with CCENT and CCT certifications. The CCENT certification will prove your ability to manage a small business branch network. The Cisco Certified Technicians (CCT), have the ability to pinpoint, reinstate, repair and replace analytical Cisco networking and system devices.

Associate Level Certifications

These certifications usually begin with CCDA for network design or CCNA for network installation, troubleshooting and other operations. These include, CCNA Service provider, CCNA Security, CCNA wireless, CCNA Routing and Switching, CCNA Cloud, CCNA Collaborations, CCNA Data Center, CCNA Cyber Ops and CCNA Industrial.

Professional Level Certifications

The Cisco certifications at this level shows an advanced level of networking skills. Each of these certifications deals with different technologies aimed for varying job positions. They are CCDP, CCNP Collaboration, CCNP Routing and Switching, CCNP Security, CCNP Cloud, CCNP Wireless and CCNP Data Centre.

Expert Level Certifications

The expert certifications include, CCDE, CCIE Wireless, CCIE Security, CCIE Service Provider, CCIE Data Centre, and CCIE Collaboration. CCIE (Cisco Certified Internetwork), is among the most illustrious networking certifications accepted worldwide.

Architect Level Certifications

This is the top most level which recognizes the architectural competence to support the compound networks of global organizations. This certification is known as CCAr, (Cisco Certified Architect), which is the ultimate level of your IT Career.

Factors to consider

Set your goals

It is always common for individuals to postpone what could have been achieved earlier. To be successful, you must set own goals, as they will allow you to advance in your career. It is always important to achieve all Cisco Certifications from the Beginner Level as you progress to the Architect level. This will prepare you fully, by giving you an insight of what Cisco entails and unravel other potential areas of your career.

Combine study materials

This requires a candidate to use variety of available books, as they also involve you in the Cisco community. Apart from using the books, combination of websites can be essential, because they offer wide knowledge of the field you are studying. The Cisco community is usually straight forward, friendly and will offer enough support that is of much help in determining your progress.


It is important to go for training, as it increases your skills and general knowledge of what to expect while advancing to the next level. Training can be done practically or through self-paced online programs. The online programs can be of much help and gives you space and time. Always practice and do not forget to remember the basics. All these factors will be of much help in your career as you progress to the highest level.

Comments are closed.